The Hired Hand – Not just another blah-blah-blog

July 15, 2014

Appily ever after

Filed under: Uncategorized — Darcy Grabenstein @ 8:18 am

by Darcy Grabenstein

The email subject line read: An invitation from Maeve and Karl for Darcy Grabenstein

Curiosity got the best of me, so I opened the email, which revealed:

Wedding invitation email

I consider myself fairly tech savvy, but this is my first wedding invitation via app. Of course, I could have gone to the website, but I wanted to get the full app experience. So I downloaded the app to my smartphone:

AppyCouple icon

And this is what I saw when I opened the app and logged in:

AppyCouple1

I’ve got to admit, it’s certainly a cost-saving (and tree-saving) alternative to a traditional printed invitation. If you haven’t already seen it, here’s a look at the app’s features:

Appy Couple Wedding RSVP

“Our Story” gives a pictorial view of the couple’s life together:

Appy Couple - our story

The couple can include all the romantic details of how they met. My advice? Just make sure it doesn’t fall into the “TMI” category. Maeve and Karl did a nice job on their “how we met” story:

Appy Couple - how we met

The Gallery allows the couple (and others!) to upload photos:

Appy Couple - photo gallery

Family and friends can sign the couple’s virtual guestbook. In the true spirit of social media, the app invites guests to “start the conversation”:

Guestbook

Appy Couple is a one-stop wedding app, as it also includes a registry and a cute countdown to the big day:

Countdown

There’s a section for travel information, especially important for a destination wedding or one in a remote location such as Alaska:

Travel

Want to send a message to the couple? There’s an app (section) for that! You can either send a group or a private message:

Messaging

And if you’d like to make a virtual toast (complete with bubbles), go right ahead. Just don’t spill champagne on your smartphone.

Toasts

My take on this? As one who’s a traditionalist when it comes to life cycle events, I must admit that this app lets the couple create a truly personal experience.

So what’s next on the app horizon? An app for divorce? Of course!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

