The Hired Hand – Not just another blah-blah-blog

April 21, 2017

The Job Search Dating Game

Filed under: Uncategorized — Darcy Grabenstein @ 4:45 pm

Here I am, nearly three years since the last time I was laid off from an ad agency. Layoffs are a fact of life in the advertising industry. They simply come with the territory.

PR at the Phillies game

In June 2014, I attended a Phillies game the same day I was laid off.

And so, as I dive head first into my job search, it struck me that looking for a job is a lot like online dating. Your cover letter is a bit like your online profile. With that in mind, I’ve rewritten my goals in a “friendlier” format:

Experienced copywriter ISO jobs with benefits.
Interested in long-term relationship with organization
in the Greater Philly/South Jersey area. Great SOH
and work ethic. Not willing to relocate. Will consider
remote work. Would like to meet F2F. I’ll show you
my resume if you show me salary range.

OK, that may be a little flippant for something as serious as a job search. But the comparison to online dating is a valid one. If the cover letter is similar to an online profile, the phone screen is just the professional version of the phone call interested parties make to decide whether to actually go on a first date.

The interview itself is the first date. If things go well, you’ll have a second or even third date. But questions remain: Do you divulge everything on the first date, or do you hold back? How soon do you contact the employer after that first meeting? If you reach out right away, does that make you look desperate? Can you afford to play hard to get?

Once you land a job, you’ve got to be careful that you don’t fall into the trap of complacency that’s common in long-term relationships. You’ve got to keep the relationship fresh. You’ve also got to keep your roving eye under control; your focus should be on the new relationship, not with moving on to the next opportunity.

In keeping with the dating theme, I have changed the lyrics to “Matchmaker, Matchmaker” from “Fiddler on the Roof” to reflect my current situation:

Recruiter, Recruiter
Make me a match,
Find me a gig,
a job I can snatch.

Recruiter, Recruiter
Look through your leads
And make me a perfect match.

Recruiter, Recruiter
I’ve done email
You know the ropes
Show the pay scale.

Get me an interview, I’m longing to be
employed — yes, I have a degree!

SEO,
Yes, I have done it.
Blogs and PR,
It’s yes to those too.
Social media,
digital marketing,
My resume’s filled with all that I do!

Matchmaker, Matchmaker,
Make me a match,
Find me a gig,
A job I can snatch,

Day after day at home I’m alone
So find me job
of my own.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

